life lessons from The Great Gatsby…

Cover of "The Great Gatsby"

Cover of The Great Gatsby

This past week was Banned Books week, so I read a book that has been on my list for many years – The Great Gatsby.  Somehow I missed it during high school and college, and a movie is coming out next year based on the book, so I decided this week to take the time to read it.  It has been banned in the past, and continues to be on banned books lists, so I was even more intrigued.

I absolutely loved it, and felt that there are many life lessons in this story; lessons about how people impact us with their decisions, how we impact others, and how each person in a community impacts that community in some way – essentially, a community would be totally different if even one person was missing from it.

I hope this list of the lessons in The Great Gatsby, for those of you that have read the book, will make you think, laugh, and want to reread the book, which is well worth the time.   I’d love to hear what you took away from it and what life lessons you would add to the list.

So, here is my non-inclusive list of life lessons from The Great Gatsby:

  • Semantics mean everything.
  • Your gut feeling is generally accurate, even if you can’t yet determine why.
  • You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you can’t fool all the people all the time.
  • Being around miserable people will make you miserable too; so run away from miserable people!
  • Using “old sport” as a term of endearment is not charming, cute, or sophisticated; I am glad this either went out of style or is only a fictional term.
  • Everyone is doing the very best they can at any given time.
One thought on “life lessons from The Great Gatsby…

  1. I remember reading this book in high school. Although can’t remember any life lessons I took away from it as that was too long ago. I do remember Fitzgerald’s writing to be descriptive, eloquent and lyrical. Also clicked over to the Banned Book Week website and was a bit shocked to see many of the classics that were required reading on “The List.” Some of those I have read and re-read and are classics, such as “The Great Gatsby.” Thanks for posting this, I’ll put this on my current to read list. Remembering it as a multi-layered and enjoyable book. Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

