prioritizing every day…

medium_6963030233In the spirit of a new year approaching, I have been thinking a lot about how to improve how I spend my time and prioritize my life.  When I look back at 2012, I am actually pretty proud of my accomplishments in some areas of my life, but realize other areas have been ignored.  I am busy, but I don’t get as much done as I would like toward what is most important to me.

One of my biggest struggles is getting crystal clear about my goals – where I want to be, and enjoying the journey along the way – and then staying true to that purpose.  By focusing on my to-do list and checking things off, I find myself being proud of checking activities off my list, rather than reminding myself of the outcomes I am wishing to attain.

Amy Frost posted recently about a morning ritual she performs daily to get clear with how to spend her time towards what really matters, and how to prioritize her day and her activities in a way that will support her greater goals.  The key take-away for me was how powerful reflection can be, even if it is just 10 minutes each morning.  Getting focused on a daily basis, and taking time to remind ourselves of our desired outcomes, not just activities, can help broaden the scope and lift us out from the clutter.

photo credit: Justin in SD via photopin cc

One thought on “prioritizing every day…

  1. I loved this post! And I also loved the “7 Things…To Start Their Day Right”. The moment is what we have, the time on the road is the important part of the journey. It is SO easy to forget these things, especially when we begin to enjoy a measure of success. Success makes us even busier, so we need to hone these skills now–to ensure we still have them when we have even less time!

Leave a Reply

